Churches and churchyards!

Having become intrigued by the variety and quality of posts that I have viewed, and that I actually follow, it is time me to find a theme or subject that may or may not turn into a series.

Like it or not, Churches and Churchyards, are all around us. Some new others old, very old. Some in inner cities and some in beautiful countryside. In this series I hope to capture the variations found during my visits. If relevant and I have it to hand I will add just a little of the history. Or failing that just show some photos.

Starting with St. Michael the Archangel, Warfield, Berkshire, with parts dating back to 1087, the north side is twelfth century, and it was extended in the 14th and 15th centuries. Allegedly, an earlier Saxon church on this site was given to the Bishop of Winchester, by a queen with whom he was having an affair.

 

About traveller858

My interests are travel and photography within the UK and abroad. I also love ALL things .
This entry was posted in Churches, Churchyards and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Churches and churchyards!

  1. travelwyse says:

    Reblogged this on travelwyse.

  2. Sartenada says:

    Gorgeous photos.

Comments are closed.