Palmyra

Today I thought I would dip into my archive of past travel photographs. The search reminded me of many interesting places that I have been fortunate enough to visit over the years.

I stopped at a section that included a series of “compact camera” shots taken when I visited Syria, back in 2009. No they are not the ruins that we see almost every day in the press. They are ruins from the city of Palmyra which dates back nearly 2,000 years.

An oasis in the Syrian desert, north-east of Damascus, Palmyra contains the monumental ruins of a great city that was one of the most important cultural centres of the ancient world. From the 1st to the 2nd century, the art and architecture of Palmyra, standing at the crossroads of several civilizations, married Graeco-Roman techniques with local traditions and Persian influences.

One thing is for sure, if the fighting and turmoil doesn’t stop soon, there will be many more ruins throughout the Country. Tourists of the future will then be hard pushed to distinguish between recent, old and very old ruins.

I have reproduced them in B&W in an attempt to add the feeling of age.    OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About traveller858

My interests are travel and photography within the UK and abroad. I also love ALL things .
This entry was posted in photography, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.