The search for an alternative to “Aperture” photo editing software.

 Apple, in their wisdom, have decided not to continue support for their photo editing software “Aperture”. They are, however, looking to further develop Photo within their software packages. It would seem that the general feeling, from present users of Aperture, is that this will not be a suitable product and is unlikely to offer the same level of editing power or control.

My thoughts, since hearing of the changes, have been varied. At the beginning I found it hard to understand such a decision. I then read as many articles on the subject as I could find. Seeking the thoughts of others via blogs or simply by magazine articles. I made sure that I covered both the pro and the anti positions. Some were no more than impassioned pleas to  Apple to think again. Others were more enlightened.

My feelings moved through many stages from “do nothing, bury my head and all will be OK” to “stop using Aperture with immediate effect”. In the end I realised that Aperture was not going to vanish and will remain with us for a good time yet, although not supported by upgrades etc.

Anyone with an extensive library within Aperture will be fine and can continue to enjoy working within the software. A stance which I took. However, that didn’t mean I wasn’t looking for a sensible alternative and effective method of transferring my library out.

At this point I realised that most of the “talk” used words like “transfer” and “export” files “out of” your “existing library”. To me this subconsciously meant a move or change that was only one way and once taken you could not go back. I suppose it was because I was too close to what was going to happen. The truth is that nothing is going to happen to your original library. It remains exactly as it is and can continue to be used exactly as before.

With these new thoughts I decided that I could set up an independent file structure without the need to know or have another software in place. This made things so very much easier. The task of setting this up took a relatively short time (dependant upon the size of the library) overnight in my case.

So with my mind clear of the worry in file transfers etc I was able to think about a replacement software. My initial choice was Adobe Lightroom but for some reason, known only to Adobe, their software would not run on my system. I believe many others have had similar problems. However, I think this was all in my favour as I found another package that more suited my need to edit RAW files. Capture One Pro 8 by Phase One was my choice. I have been running it for a few days now and have imported (linked to) my library with no trouble at all. I certainly feel that the clarity in each photo is sharper and more vibrant than within Aperture. Obviously there are many differences but as with most new things one just needs a little time and patience.

I realise this post is likely to have a limited audience. However, if it helps just one person it will have been worth while.

I finish with the first few photos to be processed!!!!!Peak District Peak District 2 Peak District 1

About traveller858

My interests are travel and photography within the UK and abroad. I also love ALL things .
This entry was posted in photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The search for an alternative to “Aperture” photo editing software.

  1. Jim Grey says:

    You’re wise to be thinking toward the future now that Aperture is obsolete. I use “obsolete” in the software-industry sense of the word, meaning “no longer enhanced or supported.” True, you can keep using Aperture. But in time, the world will pass you by: upgrades to your OS might make Aperture run poorly or not at all, and innovation will bring features you want that Aperture will never get.

    • traveller858 says:

      Jim, thanks for these words. You have hit the nail on the head with your description of “obsolete”. In fact you could say that Apple are, as usual, one step ahead of the game and can see that things are changing rapidly with photo editing and they don’t necessarily want to be part of the “professional” approach. More the masses for them.
      I must say that having spent a week now getting used to C1 I am beginning to thoroughly enjoy the control offered. It does seem strange that, as an Aperture enthusiast for many years, I now find myself doing more structured editing and that’s after only a week. There are things that I can’t do although I feel sure there will be a way. Time will tell but so far well worth the move.
      Thanks again for your comments.

Comments are closed.