Back in time!

A few days ago I was lucky enough to spend a little time wandering around the market town of Hungerford, Berkshire. Such a lovely and peaceful place to spend a few hours. The main street has a shop for just about everything although without doubt Antique Shops are the speciality.

Browsing “the shops” allows an individual the ability to reminisce about times gone by. Of course being able to remember using some of the items can be good or bad depending upon how old the item is I suppose.

I'm sure there is a theme here!

I’m sure there is a theme here!

Up in smoke.

Up in smoke.

Acceptable advertising!

Acceptable advertising!

There must be something here!

There must be something here!

Liquid storage.

Liquid storage.

Once the delving is complete there is always the canal to wonder along. Hungerford was such a relaxing place to visit with everything being so close to the centre. Well worth a visit.

About traveller858

My interests are travel and photography within the UK and abroad. I also love ALL things .
This entry was posted in Day out, photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Back in time!

  1. Keith Callis says:

    Dear traveller858,
    I am a contributor to a collection of essays on Thomas Hardy’s short fiction which will be published by Ashgate in the coming months. My article is on “A Changed Man,” part of whose narrative viewpoint has its location in an oriel window on the high street in Dorchester, England.
    The image you have captured here –https://traveller858.wordpress.com/2015/03/26/william-henry-fox-talbot/oriel-window/ —
    seems to me an appropriate illustration of that viewpoint.
    I’m writing to ask permission for its use in the Ashgate volume. I would like provide a form to verify your permission.
    Please let me know whether you’d be willing to allow me to suggest it for use in this book.
    All the best,
    Keith

  2. traveller858 says:

    Keith,
    Thank you for your message and I wish you well with your publication. Although I, personally, would be happy for my picture to be used I do question the facts here. The picture was of an oriel window used by Fox Talbot. This window is not in Dorchester. However, if a comment “similar to” was added then I guess all would be well. Of course I do not own the window in question and am not sure if rights pertain to it.
    Sorry to pose more queries than solutions. It is, however, better to err on the side of caution these days.
    Barry

    • Keith Callis says:

      Thank you. I apologize for not having the facts quite right. Only the image would be used, however, and I wouldn’t provide any comment at all. It would appear at some point in the essay as a mere illustration of the oriel window that the narrator of the story I’ve written about sat in while he watched the street below.
      I, too, am erring on the side of caution. Like you, I suspect that there is not a question of rights, but I didn’t want to offend you or trespass in any way. Thank you for responding to my question. If I have your blessing, I think I’ll go ahead and offer the picture as a possible illustration for the book. One of the editors liked it a lot.
      By the way, I’m glad I found your blog!
      Best regards,
      Keith

  3. Keith Callis says:

    I’m forwarding the image to the editors today. I understand that there probably isn’t a copyright question, but I nonetheless have a permissions form that I could send to you.
    I don’t have your email address so I can’t forward the form to you, but if you provide your address to me at TCallis@csuniv.edu, I’ll forward it for signing and scanning then returning to me.
    All the best,
    Keith

Comments are closed.